Kinsey and me: stories

Sale price Price $ 150.00 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included.

A Collection Of Stories That Reveal Kinsey's Origins-- And Grafton's Past. The Nine Stories That Open The Book Show How Fully Formed Kinsey Was From The Beginning. The Thirteen Stories In The Second Part, Written In The Decade Following Her Mother's Death, Feature Kit Blue, A Younger Version Of Grafton Herself, And Reflect Her Troubled Family Life And The Author's Journey From Anger To Understanding And Forgiveness. Between The Sheets -- Long Gone -- Parker Shotgun -- Non Sung Smoke -- Falling Off The Roof -- Poison That Leaves No Trace -- Full Circle -- Little Missionary Work -- Lying Game -- Eye For An I : Justice, Morality, The Nature Of The Hard-boiled Private Investigator, And All That Existential Stuff -- Woman Capable Of Anything -- That's Not An Easy Way To Go -- Lost People -- Clue -- Night Visit, Corridor A -- April 24, 1960 -- Closet -- Maple Hill -- Portable Life -- Quarrel -- Jessie -- Death Review -- Letter From My Father. Sue Grafton. A Marian Wood Book.

Author : Grafton, Sue.

Publisher : G.p. Putnam's Sons

Published Year : 2013

Format : print - Hardcover, 304 pages

Subject : Childhood and youthGrafton, Sue, Millhone, Kinsey (Fictitious character), Millhone, Kinsey (Fictitious character)--Fiction, Women private investigators, Women private investigators--Fiction, Detective and mystery stories, American, PS3557.R13 K56 2013, 813/.6

Language : English

Dimensions : xvii, 286 p. ; 24 cm.

ISBN : 9780399163838

Overview :

In 1982, Sue Grafton introduced us to Kinsey Millhone. Thirty years later, Kinsey is an established international icon and Sue, a number-one bestselling author. To mark this anniversary year, Sue has given us stories that reveal Kinsey’s origins and Sue’s past.

“I've come to believe that Grafton is not only the most talented woman writing crime fiction today but also that, regardless of gender, her Millhone books are among the five or six best series any American has ever written.”—Patrick Anderson, The Washington Post

Kinsey and Me has two parts: The nine Kinsey stories (1986-93), each a gem of detection; and the And Me stories, written in the decade after Grafton's mother died. Together, they show just how much of Kinsey is a distillation of her creator’s past even as they reveal a child who, free of parental interventions, read everything and roamed everywhere. But the dark side of such freedom was that very parental distance.

The same unique voice and witty insights readers fell in love with in A Is for Alibi permeate the Kinsey stories. Those in the And Me section trace a remarkable voyage, from anger to understanding, from pain to forgiveness. They take us into a troubled family, dysfunctional as most families are, each in their own way, but Grafton’s telling is sensitive, delicate, and ultimately, loving. Enriching the way we see Kinsey and know Sue, these stories are deeply affecting.